WATCH! 2016 - Treatment Advocacy Webinar Series

PrintPrintEmailEmailSaveSave

Last year, The Well Project developed an eight-week treatment advocacy training series A Place at the Table: WATCH! The program was a big success and covered a wide-range of topics including advocacy development, basic and intermediate HIV disease information, HIV treatment, clinical trials and more.

We are pleased to continue WATCH! (Women’s Advocacy and Treatment Coalition on HIV) in 2016 by offering a series of 5 webinars throughout the year. Treatment advocacy can mean many different things, from advocacy at a community level, to the national level, or even the international level. Treatment advocacy skills and knowledge can also provide you with the tools to advocate for yourself to improve your health outcomes and quality of life. WATCH! 2016 carries on the work begun in 2015, and will address important topics as identified by our community, as well as information needed to continue to build capacity and treatment advocacy knowledge among women living with HIV. Please note, while this program is focused to provide capacity building and training to women living with HIV, all PLWHIV, allies, and providers are welcome to participate.

Each hour and a half webinar will address a variety of topics. The sessions will be led by experts and upon finishing the training program and required tests, participants will be issued certificates of completion by The Well Project (see below for more information on certification requirements). Sessions will be facilitated by Krista Martel, executive director of The Well Project.

2016 WATCH! Webinar Details and Registration

Note: Space is limited to 200 participants for each webinar; Check back for more details as new webinars are announced.

  1. COMPLETE - Taking Care: Understanding and Addressing Mental Health Among Women provided an overview of mental health, women, and HIV and described the benefits of comprehensive and trauma-informed care. Date: March 9, 2016; 3:00–4:30 pm ET/2:00–3:30 pm CT/12:00–1:30 pm PT
    Speakers: Vickie Lynn, MPH, Edward Machtinger, MD
  2. COMPLETE - Community Perspectives from CROI 2016 highlighted findings from the annual Conference on Retroviruses and Opportunistic Infections (CROI), one of the most important HIV scientific conferences of the year.
    Date: April 6, 2016; 2:00–3:30 pm ET/1:00–2:30 pm CT/11:00 am–12:30 pm PT
    Speakers: Jessica Salzwedel, Lisa Diane White, and Kate Borloglou
  3. COMPLETE - Why Race Matters: Women, Intersectionality, and HIV: Race matters when it comes to HIV - and not just for women of color. Webinar presented in partnership with Positive Women's Network-USA. Highlighting topics covered in our fact sheet, community experts discussed how racism and other intersectional forms of oppression influence health disparities, and impact health outcomes; how race and other intersectional aspects of identity impact HIV care, services, and prevention; and how an understanding of privilege and oppression can improve community members' ability to communicate with one another and advocate for the rights and needs of all people living with HIV.
    Date: July 7, 2016; 12:00–1:30 pm ET/11:00 am–12:30 pm CT/9:00–10:30 am PT
    Speakers: Tonia Poteat, PhD, MPH, Naina Khanna, and JD Davids
  4. COMPLETE - Surviving HIV Over the Long Term: The Past, Present, and the Future (Part 1 of 2): This two-part webinar addressed the multitude of issues related to long-term survivorship and HIV. Part 1 defined long-term survivors, described the physical concerns of long-term survivors (including treatment challenges, treatment fatigue, drug resistance, inflammation, accelerated aging, menopause and sexual health), and discussed comorbidities. This webinar featured Kimberly Smith, MD, as well as two long-term survivors, Maria Mejia and Tranisha Arzah, who explored the issues through several lenses. For more information on this topic, please view our fact sheet, Long-Term Survivors of HIV.
    Date: October 26, 2017; 12:00–1:30 pm ET/11:00 am–12:30 pm CT/9:00–10:30 am PT
    Speakers: Kimberly Smith, MD, MPH, Maria Mejia, and Tranisha Arzah
  5. COMPLETE - Surviving HIV Over the Long Term: The Past, Present, and the Future (Part 2 of 2): This two-part webinar addressed the multitude of issues related to long-term survivorship and HIV. Part 2 focused on mental health issues, AIDS Survivor Syndrome, financial considerations, future planning and surviving/thriving with HIV. This webinar featured Theresa Mack, MD, MPH, as well as two long-term survivors, Maria Mejia and Tranisha Arzah, who explored the issues through several lenses. For more information on this topic, please view our fact sheet, Long-Term Survivors of HIV.
    Date: November 14, 2017; 1:00 pm –2:30 pm ET/12:00 pm–1:30 pm CT/10:00 am–11:30 am PT
    Speakers: Theresa Mack, MD, MPH, Maria Mejia, and Tranisha Arzah

     

 

Guidelines for Certification

The 2016 WATCH! treatment advocacy series will consist of 5 webinars throughout the year. The Well Project will issue certificates of completion for those who participate in, and complete a pre- and post-assessment for all webinars. The webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to participate live and will be accessible for one month after they initially take place. If you are accessing the recording of the webinar, you still need to complete the pre-and post-assessments. A final evaluation survey will also be required for the certificate of completion.

Technology Requirements

The webinar viewing currently supports Windows PC, Mac, Android tablets, iPhones, and iPads. You will need one of those devices to join the visual part of the meeting. Anyone can dial into the audio component by calling in and entering your attendee PIN. Anyone joining by mobile device will need to download the AnyMeeting App from their respective App Store in advance of the webinar.

For any webinars you are not able to join live please click the links above for each webinar's page to access the Pre-Test, Recording and Post-Test. Webinar recordings are posted within 1-3 days of the live webinar and remain available for one month following the live webinar.

This program is supported through unrestricted grants provided by Merck, Janssen Therapeutics, Gilead Sciences, and Bristol-Myers Squibb.

Questions? Please email kbower@thewellproject.org

Do you get our newsletter?

admin's picture

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter and get the latest info in your inbox.

seventh name

Entrevistamos Arianna Lint, miembro del Consejo Asesor de la Comunidad y Una Chica Como Yo blogger, para nuestra "Enfoque: Mujeres Creando Diferencia" serie.

Learn about peripheral neuropathy – what it is, what puts people at risk of developing it, its signs and symptoms, and available treatments.

Obtener información acerca de las mujeres trans que viven con el VIH y los muchos problemas únicos que se enfrentan, incluyendo algunas buenas noticias sobre los cambios y la capacidad de recuperación determinado.

admin's picture

Join our community

Connect to our support community and share experiences with other women living with HIV.

Join now >

admin's picture

You Can Help!

Together, we can change the course of the HIV epidemic…one woman at a time!

Please donate now!>